Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

8 Doors of Jannah: Jannah, in the Islamic doctrine, is the eternal paradise promised to the believers. The Arabic word for Jannah is derived from the Arabic word for ‘to hide or cover’. It is the abode of righteous Muslims after their death, where they are judged by Allah to be righteous. 

Jannah is the place overflowing with ecstasy which is everlasting. It is the last chapter of a believer’s life. Jannah is free from fatigue, injury, and sadness. The Qur’an describes Jannah as a place filled with joy and pleasure and free from evil, hatred, and jealousy.

What Are The Gates of Jannah?

It has mountains of musk and valleys of pearls. Jannah has eight gates of entry; each named after a religious duty or characteristic of the person who is admitted or called through it. They are as follows:

Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

Baab As-Salaat

This is the gate where those who are punctual and vigilant about their prayers will be called through. Prayer has been prescribed and has been made obligatory for us 5 times a day. Every day, 5 times a day, 1.2 billion Muslims from all corners of the world turn their face towards Mecca and the Ka’abah. The salah signifies and plays the role of a bridge between us and Allah. It gives us the chance to connect with our souls and with the light of Allah. It, therefore, serves the role of a spiritual journey. Observing salah and exercising your spiritual core through it is what is often neglected. Practicing salah as a value and principle is what allows one to reach higher levels of piety.

Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

Baab Al-Jihad

This is the gate reserved for those who practiced jihad in their life and died a mujahid or were martyred (shaheed). Jihad does not refer to ‘holy war’ or a form of religious extremism. Common translations of the Arabic word for jihad are ‘strive’, ‘effort, and ‘labor’. Jihaad is not simply a task or activity, but the practice and quest to hold steadfast to Islam’s values.

Jihad is a system of not only self-defense against external threats to our beliefs and values but most importantly the threats that are more internal and are born from one’s desires and pleasures. It also has a communal element to it where one Muslim believer can strive against the prevalent unIslamic practices in society and inspire goodness.

Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

Baab As-Sadaqah

This gate is for those who are steadfast in paying charity to the needy and troubled. Sadaqah, which in Islamic teachings means charity, is among the core tenants of Islam. It builds on the strong precedent left by the life, teachings, and practice of the Prophet PBUH and the Sahabah RA. Sadaqah is the act of giving in the way of Allah SWT. It is done not only to help those in need but also to purify one’s soul of greed and lust, and invoke empathy and compassion. This makes it a spiritual exercise, therefore, all charity is not sadaqah.

Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

Baab Ar-Rayyan

Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

This gate is for the Muslims who practiced self-restraint in the holy month of Ramadan and beyond, through the practice of fasting from dawn to dusk. The purpose of Ramadan and fasting is to grow spiritually. This is done by abstaining from food, sex, drink, foul tall, e.t.c. All the while engaging in prayers, worship, and dhikr.

This is a time of reflecting and engaging with the soul and disengaging with material and worldly desires and thoughts. However, fasting is not limited to only Ramadhan but can be practiced all through the year except for the two Eids, as shown by the practice of Prophet PBUH.

Baab Al-Hajj

Baab Al-hajj is reserved for the believers that fulfilled the duty of hajj, the holy pilgrimage. Hajj is the annual pilgrimage and tawaf of the Ka’bah. All able Muslims must perform at least once, however, multiple pilgrimages are allowed. It is a five-day event performed in the last month of the Islamic calendar.

It is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is in essence a symbolic journey and a part of the life and practices of Prophet Ibrahim AS. The hajj pilgrims in the state of Ihram have certain limits and restrictions imposed on them that they have to observe. The purpose of these restrictions and duties of hajj is to purify the believers. They from start to end have more than likely been touched in some way during the ordeal as their hardships purpose was strict to please their Lord.

Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

Baab Al-Kaazimeen Al-Ghaiz Wal Aafina Anin Naas

This gate is for those who swallow their anger and forgive their Muslim brethren. Anger and forgiveness are both qualities and characteristics of Allah SWT. However, the mercy of Allah exceeds His Anger and forgives His creation when they turn to Him.

This is, therefore, the practice and teaching of Allah directly. For us, the practice of swallowing anger and practicing forgiveness is a humbling experience. Our humility and the acceptance of Allah’s Majesty and Excellence is what is most beloved by Allah.

Baab Al-Iman

This gate is reserved for the Mumineen or the one with most trust and faith in Allah SWT and strives in His way because. The Mu’min is closer to Allah as the message and teachings of Islam have not only been understood by him but are now the very essence of his thought and actions.

Baab Al-Dhikr

This is the gate for the one that made the most effort in engaging in the remembrance of Allah SWT and His Glory. The practice of dhikr is not merely the vocal remembrance of Allah but remembering HIm in your heart and being mindful of His presence because He is Al-Basir (All-Seeing) and AL-‘ALEEM (All-Knowing). This is the highest level of connection with Allah.

Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah


Everything You Need To Know About The 8 Doors of Jannah

Heaven and Hell are both creations of Allah and both are significant in their respective ways as part of Allah’s Hikmat (wisdom). The gates of heaven show not only the deeds and characteristics closest to Allah SWT but also how simple and easy He has made the religion for us by expanding the avenues for us through His bounty.


  1. Saif Ur Rahman October 19, 2022
  2. Djasmini August 26, 2023
    • Ayesha Raza September 4, 2023

Add Comment