Complete List of Halal and Haram Food Items in Islam

List of Halal and Haram food items in Islam: Islam is the perfect combination of physical and spiritual values. Allah (SWT) created humans in such a way that everything they eat and drink affects not only their body but also their spirit. Which also affects our behavior and thoughts.

In Islam, Allah (SWT) prohibits Muslims from eating some edible things (haram) and allows some (halal) things. Muslims must follow these guidelines and always avoid eating the forbidden food until it is a matter of life and death.

Meat is the most strictly regulated food category. Some animals have been prohibited from consumption since they are harmful to human consumption. We should understand that Allah is the best to decide what is beneficial or unhealthy for us. As; He is the one who has created us. Here is a breakdown of all Halal and Haram Food and Animals in Islam.

Classifications of Halal Foods

Once Muslims go out to eat, they must check that the food is halal. The following is a list of Halal foods:

  • Meat slaughtered under Islamic laws and principles.
  • Fish and other marine animals (not required to be slaughtered) 
  • Fruits and vegetables 
  • Dairy products (excluding cheese made from non-halal animal-derived)
Complete List of Halal and Haram Food Items in Islam  

Classifications of Haram Foods

Here is a list of foods prohibited by Islam. Deliberately eating or drinking them is a great sin. Unless it is an exceptional and an extreme case where no other halal food or drink is available; or the person is in danger due to extreme hunger or for medicinal purposes. 

  • Animal meat does not slaughter following the methods prescribed in the Quran and Sunnah. 
  • Pork or pork by-products 
  • Alcohol 
  • Blood 
  • Foods that may contain any combination of the aspic, alcoholic pastries, etc.

Halal Animals

  • All poultry 
  • All farm animals 
  • Sheep 
  • Goats 
  • Camels

Haram Animals

In-depth study of non-halal meat categories, Eating the following animals violates Islamic dietary laws. Similarly, Muslims cannot eat ingredients or products derived from them or contaminated by them.

  • Animals that have been slaughtered or dedicated to in the name of people other than Allah. 
  • Carnivores animals/birds. They are those who eat the meat of other animals/birds or drink their blood. These include lions, dogs, wolves, tigers, falcons, eagles, owls, reptiles, snakes, crocodiles.
  • Animals/birds allocated to idols.
  • Animals/birds died from natural causes. 
  • Animals/birds died of asphyxiation. 
  • Animals/birds died due to ill-treatment. 
  • Animals/birds fell from a height and died. 
  • Insects excluding locusts
  • Animals/birds were killed and horned by predators. Those Animals reside on both land and water: such as frogs and newts.

Why Do Muslims Consume Halal Food?

We Muslims only eat halal food for two reasons. 


  • The meat we eat keeps our bodies healthy and clean. 
  • To ensure ourselves that the way we have chosen to slaughter the animal; is the most considerate method. 

As we have seen, the slaughter method is known as Zabihah guarantees that Muslims met these two standards. This method makes the slaughter fast and efficient. This slaughtering method certifies to raise animals in a way so that they will not get mistreatment. 

These animals are for Islamic slaughtering purposes. So Muslims must feed them with healthy fruits and vegetables. These animals should not get harmed or tortured. We should provide them with enough space to roam, graze and get plenty of fresh air. We should look out for those meals that do not contain other types of Haram food (e.g., alcohol, pig’s oil, etc.).

You should also go through these Qualities that Allah Loves and Help You Get Closer to Allah.

Ways to Identify Halal Foods

To knowingly eat something that is haram is a great sin, and every Muslim must abstain. Allah has provided us with so much food that we can enjoy. It is also a sin if you fail to find out the food is halal or not. It is better to stay away from foods that you are not sure about.

Here are some ways to identify Halal foods in your country: 

  • Those Halal foods that contain a “Certified Halal” logo awarded by the Muslim Council.
  • Some foods purely have the word “Halal” printed on them. It is a good approach. Also, make sure to consider that whether you can trust the source or not.
  • If there is no halal symbol, one should look for the vegetarian symbol. It looks like a green square with a green dot in the middle. 
  • Some foods may carry the non-vegetarian symbol. The symbol looks like the vegetarian symbol but in brown color as it contains eggs.
  • Check the ingredients to ensure they do not contain alcohol (most packaged products do not contain alcohol).
  • Always check the labels. Examining the ingredients listed on the package is your best perspective on figuring out if the food is Halal or not.
  • For sweetmeats, look for the “gelatin” listed in the ingredients. If the packaging does not have a Halal or Vegetarian symbol, it is likely to have non Halal gelatin.
  • Look for only those foods that contain emulsifiers. Emulsifiers are those foods that contain both fats (or oils) and water. Examples of emulsifiers are lecithin and mono- and di-glycerides. Not all products are Halal or Haram because many emulsifiers come from plant or animal sources that may be Halal or Haram.
  • If you are eating from a street food vendor or at a restaurant that claims to be Halal certified; Make sure to see their certification.
  • If you are looking to buy halal meat, local Muslim-owned butchers are the place to go. 
  • Search for Halal and Haram E codes online, or download apps that will scan the ingredients and tell you if it is Halal or not.

Also have a look at these Powerful Duas to Control Anger & Other Negative Emotions.

 Mentioning a few of the Haram E-Codes to look out for:

  • E120 – cochineal.
  • E140 – chlorophyll.
  • E141 – copper pheophytin.
  • E252 – potassium nitrate.
  • E422 – Glycerol/glycerine.
  • E430 – polyoxyethylene (8) stearate.
  • E431 – polyoxyethylene (40) stearate.
  • E433 – polysorbate 80.

FINAL WORDS

Islam is a religion that provides a way of life with protocols, rules, and manners governing every facet of life. Since food is a salient part of daily life, food laws carry a special significance. For a Muslim, halal foods and animals mean that the products have met the requirements laid down by Islamic laws. By practicing these laws, Muslims not only attain spirituality but also gain the wealth of health. 

May Almighty Allah help us to follow the teachings of the Quran and Sunnah! Ameen




One Response

  1. Ahmet November 12, 2021

Add Comment